Another Side of Rejection

At my last writers’ group meeting, one of our speakers read a piece about rejection. It was a response to a rejection that the writer received.  I didn’t take notes, but I had examples at home at home to use. Now I will share my example with you.

Here is a response you might want to send next time you receive a rejection letter…

Dear Editor,

Thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to consider your rejection. Unfortunately, the volume of unsolicited rejections has become so overwhelming that I find I can no longer devote the necessary time to each one. Therefore, I have decided not to accept any rejections unless they have been channeled through a literary agent who knows my writing needs.

I wish you much success in placing your rejection elsewhere.

The Writer

This is a re-write of a form response I received from a national magazine. In reviewing their form letter, which has been sent to countless individuals, I noticed two spelling errors and one grammar error. I guess they didn’t have the time to proofread their letters either!

About TheWriteChris

I've been an intermittent writer for years and now I am taking the deep plunge. I will soon be be published in the Career Guide for Salem Press where I wrote about the Real Estate Industry. I am an active member of CHAIRS, a regional writer's critique group. I also do my best to keep informed of the publishing industry news and changes. Over the years I've written numerous short stories, a humorous book on being a Realtor and have a partly finished romance/fantasy novel. For about the last 10 years I've written skits for adults that run anywhere from a few minutes to an hour. In the past year I began writing for the children's curriculum at my church. This opened up my eyes and heart to writing for children - the writing genre I am now pursuing most actively.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

